2017 International GromSearch Final Opens in Sao Paulo

16 of the world’s best junior surfers have just converged on the tiny beachside town of Maresias, Brazil. Home to both 2014 World Champion Gabriel Medina and the Pupo family (Miguel and Samuel), the area prides itself on a lifestyle surrounding surf, sun and an ability to produce Brazil’s best talent in the water.

And as such, what better place to hold the annual Rip Curl GromSearch International Final – bringing together the top under-17 male and female surfer from seven different countries around the globe.

The waiting period officially kicked off today in Maresias, and Gabriel Medina, a former GromSearch International Final Champion, invited the juniors to his Instituto to come and meet Brazil’s future generation of talent.

“It’s really cool to see all of these talented surfers in my hometown, competing in the International GromSearch Final,” Gabriel said. “For me, this is a special event – it’s where my whole career really started.

“I want to welcome all the competitors to visit my Instituto and to enjoy my hometown. Good luck to everyone. Winning here is a big deal in life!”

After a visit to the Instituto, the Medina family, the Instituto groms and the GromSearch International Finalists took part in an opening ceremony at Coconuts Hotel, a main sponsor of the event.

A proper Brazilian greeting, the finalists joined in traditional dancing, barbeque and more.

The waiting period for the International GromSearch Final runs until May 7, 2017. Stay tuned for more behind the scenes content, dropping daily.

2017 List of Competitors:
Australia: Jay Brown and Sasha Baker
Brazil: Leonardo Barcelos and Louisie Frumento
Europe: Yael Pena (Spain) and Ellie Turner (UK)
Indonesia: Rio Waida and Dhea Natasya Novitasari
New Zealand: Caleb Cutmore and Elin Tawharu
USA: Kade Matson and Caroline Marks
Argentina: Catalina Nercere and Gaspar Larragneguw
Gabriel Medina Instititue Wildcards: Carol Bonelli and Daniel Adisaka

Previous International Champions:
2016 Nolan Rapoza (USA) and Brisa Hennessey (Hawaii)
2015 Samuel Pupo (BRA) and Leilani McGonagle (Costa Rica)
2014 Pat Curren (USA) and Brisa Hennessey (Hawaii)
2013 Leonardo Fioravanti (Italy) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (Hawaii)
2012 Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (Hawaii)
2011 Mitch Parkinson (AUS) and Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
2010 Gabriel Medina (BRA) and Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
2009 Thomas Woods (AUS) and Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
2008 Dale Staples (ZAF) and Malia Jones (HAW)
2007 Tyler Newton (USA) and Tyler Wright (AUS)
2006 Owen Wright (AUS) and Alana Blanchard (HAW)
2005 Mason Ho (HAW) and Nikita Robb (ZAF)


More On IndoSurfLife.com